Sprint Into Spring Race Wrap 5, Parade College

Shane’s Race Wrap –

A hot windy day greeted over 140 participants, along with a technical map by Fredrik Johansson and coruses set by Ian Dodd. A feature of the courses was the map flip afer the sprint leg.  Everybody was commenting on the course, most of it positive! Close attention had to be paid to the map, or otherwise you risked being in the wrong place. Reading control descriptions were also very important, as was planning ahead. DROC put on a wonderful event that ran smoothly thanks to all its volunteers. Those who stayed back were treated to a sprint course and punching technique tutorial by the Danes.

The Mo Farah course was a bit longer than past events, most people clocking up just under 5km. Jakob rebounded from last week in 19:47, followed by Thor Norskov (20.42) and Bruce Arthur (20.47).  Newcomer to the series Cecilie Freiburg won in 24.42, pushing Natasha Key to second (25.13) and Rachel Johnson to third (28.10).  Jakob leads the Men’s overall and Natasha has a stranglehold on the Women’s and Yellow Jersey. The Sprint Leg today was blitzed in 36 seconds by Shane Mallia, followed by Bruce Arthur (46s) and Andrew Rowan (48s). Cecilie dominated for the women, winning the leg in 46 seconds ahead of Natasha (57s) and Kirsten Fairfax (58s). Rebecca Jaffe maintains her slender lead over Thor for the Green Jersey. The Hill Climb lived up to its name this week, but it didn’t worry Eskil who flew up in 34 seconds, a whopping 16 seconds faster than Jakob Edsen and Brodie Nankervis. The ladies weren’t far apart; Cecilie (1.00), Kirsten (1.07), Natasha (1.10), Rachel, Lanita and Mary Fleming (1.11). Eskil holds a perfect 5/5 record and will be looking to make it 6 next week to retain the Polka Dot Jersey.

Sally Pearson was completed in a neat time of 19:59 by young Aston Key, in front of Patrick Bradfield Smith (22.31) and Jensen Key (24.26). Jacqui Doyle completed her first Sprint event for the series and outshone the regular runners in a time of 23.47, followed by Yellow Jersey holder Anne Arthur (29.05) and Janet Johnson (30.08). The Sprint leg was a close run affair with the top three males headed by Patrick Bradfield Smith (48s), Aston (57s) and Brody McCarthy (59s). The females were led by Jacqui (1.11), Janet (1.13) and Green Jersey holder Debbie Dodd (1.13). The Hill Climb saw some stumbling up on hands and knees, whilst others rocketed up such as Aston (1.00), Anne Robinson (1.08), Cormac McCarthy (1.16), Ray Howe (1.19), Jacqui (1.28) and Janet (1.28). Anne Robinson holds an unassailable lead for the Polka Dot Jersey.

The Usain Bolt course welcomed some new and some familiar faces for the first time in 2014 – Peter Beggs, John Gavens, Neil and Emily Cavanagh, Tina Smith and Julie Francis. Torren continued his domination of Usain Bolt by leading all comers in a slick time of 17.32, followed by Julie Francis (24.23), Magnus Fossum (30.10), Josh Boulton (30.32), Emily Cavanagh (30.50) and Tina Smith (40.30). Torren leads the race for the Yellow Jersey and the Men’s overall, whilst Mariann Fossum holds a slender lead over Anna Leditschke in the women’s. The Sprint leg tested a few and provided close split times. Josh (1.13) was 1 second quicker than Torren (1.14), followed by Peter Beggs (1.24) and the female top three of Julie Francis (1.32), Claire Adams (1.42) and Emily Cavanagh (1.55). Magnus holds a 1 point lead over Claire in the Green Jersey standings.  It all comes down to next week, as does the Polka Dot Jersey where Claire holds equal billing with Mariann Fossum. The Hill Climb on this course was ascended fastest by Torren (1.03), Noah Hutton (1.17), Josh (1.42), Emily (2.08), Mariann (2.16) and Hannah Adams (2.32).

There are plenty of jersey spots still up for grabs and 3 people – Eskil Schoning, Anne Arthur and Torren Arthur are looking to continue their perfect winning streaks in the Mo Farah Hill Climb, Sally Pearson Hill Climb and Usain Bolt Overall.

So get down to Eltham next week one hour earlier than usual – register from 12.30pm, start between 1pn and 2.30pm,for our last event before the Sprint Championships at Deakin University Waurn Ponds the next day.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.