Sprint Into Spring – Wrap Up

2013 Sprint Into Spring Series Summary

The inaugural Sprint Into Spring Series was very well attended and the record for the most number of people to attend an event (125) went to Dandenong Ranges Orienteering Club who set the Darebin Parklands course, followed by Tuckonie Orienteering Club who set the Showgrounds course where 120 participants entered. A big thanks also to Bayside Kangaroos Orienteering Club (St Albans map), Yarra Valley Orienteering Club (Latrobe University map), Nillumbik Emus Orienteering (Pipemakers Park map), Melbourne Forest Racers (Westgate Park map) and of course Eureka Orienteers who organised the 2 Ballarat events on the same day.

The Mo Farah Course overall standings for the Yellow Jersey was held by Bruce Arthur up until the 7th event where Bryan Keely recorded his 4th course victory, while Bruce mispunched and relinquished his hold on the Yellow Jersey. Bruce and Brodie Nankervis finished second and third overall, well ahead of the other competitors. The Women’s overall standings went right down to the final event where any of Lanita Steer, Asha Steer, Aislinn Prendergast and Laurina Neumann could have won. Lanita was leading going into the 8th event at Mount Clear College, before Aislinn had another top 11 finish to cap off a consistent series where she was rewarded with first place and  entry into New Zealand’s Sprint the Bay next yea,r along with Bryan Keely.

Tim Hatley was the green jersey holder for the majority of the series before Jordan Hirst and Brodie Nankervis clocked up their 6th events. Going into the final Saturday Jordan had to drop his lowest score before he’d take the lead, which happened in the final event where he finished equal third ahead of Brodie to secure the Green Jersey on the second last control of the series. Brodie finished 3 points behind Jordan, with Bruce Arthur taking third place.

Lanita Steer held the Polka Dot Jersey for most of the series before Jordan and Brodie recorded their 6th event at Ballarat. Jordan took the Jersey going into the final event and capped it off with another victory, although Brodie takes home the Polka Dot Jersey under the one jersey per person rule.

The Sally Pearson Overall Standings and Yellow Jersey was held by Janine Steer for the first 5 races before she missed the 6th race and struggled with injury in the 7th race.   However she managed to pull out a third placing in the final race to secure the Yellow Jersey from Dennis Mews and Anne Arthur. The Men’s Overall Placings were Dennis Mews (578pts), Max Dalheim (573pts) and Peter Yeates (545pts). The Women’s Overall Placings were Janine Steer (593pts), Anne Arthur (575pts) and Margi Freemantle (568pts).

Max Dalheim held the Green Jersey from the first event and wouldn’t let go, recording a near perfect 5 out of 6 Sprint Legs to easily take home the Green Jersey ahead of Janine Steer and Philippa Lohmeyer-Collins.

The Polka Dot Jersey holder was Philippa after the St Albans event, before Dennis Mews officially held the jersey and never looked back, retaining his lead for the remainder of the series (although he did hold Yellow before the 6th event leaving Debbie Dodd briefly holding the Polka Dot Jersey). The final Hill Climb Standings were Janine (592pts), Dennis (580), Anne Arthur (554), Max (553), Debbie Dodd (551), Margi (548), Philippa (547) and Anne Robinson (547) completing the logjam.

The Usain Bolt Course was aptly named as the Arthur kids would bolt around at each course and ensure no other competitor walked away with a Course victory against their name. Torren was quick out of the blocks, winning the first 2 events before Mason won the third.  They were equal leaders of the Yellow Jersey, which Mason (through consistent performances) would keep for the rest of the series despite both of them winning 4 events each. Peter Beggs finished in third place overall. The Women’s Overall Standings was a race in 3 between Pat Mews, Sarah Davies and Christine Palmer. Christine competed on the Sally Pearson course for the first 2 events before switching to Usain Bolt and making a late plunge, managing to finish 3rd behind Pat who lost the lead after Race 7 to the eventual winner Sarah.

The Green Jersey was shared between Mason and Torren in the early events, before Mason secured the Yellow Jersey, then Sarah Davies was running against Torren to claim the honours. Torren held the Green Jersey going into the final 2 events before Sarah recorded a first place and Torren stumbled to finish 6th. With only 3 points separating them Torren atoned for his earlier demise and claimed the final Sprint Leg to confirm his right to wear the 2013 Green Jersey.

The Polka Dot Jersey (with the Arthurs out of the equation) was held by John Sheahan after Race 1,  before Peter Beggs took over and maintained his lead with steady performances on the Hill Climb Leg to guarantee he would take home the 2013 Polka Dot Jersey.

A big Thank-You to the mappers and organisers – Ted Van Geldermalsen, Geoff Adams, Warwick Davies, Margi Freemantle, and Debbie and Ian Dodd, for their hard work behind the scenes that ensured the event days ran smoothly, maps were consistent and accurate, and course setting was of a very high standard.  Also to the clubs who gave their full support and helped us put on such a great series of events.  We’d also like to thank Orienteering Victoria for their generous donation of prizes for the Men’s and Women’s overall winners on each course.

Hope to see you all next year for the second instalment of the Sprint Into Spring Series!





Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.