Sprint Into Spring Race 6 Wrap – Latrobe University

Just over 100 runners braved the elements on a longer more complex course at the Latrobe University Bundoora Campus. Everyone had to pay close attention or fear losing their orientation on a tight and compact map. The rain also made course conditions tougher with slippery sections of pavement.

62 runners entered the Mo Farah course, which was won by Bruce Arthur in a time of 18 minutes and 42 seconds, ahead of Bryan Keely (19:02) and Brodie Nankervis (19:35). Brodie (1:11) won the Sprint leg by 3 seconds ahead of Jeremy Hirst and Kerrin Rattray. The Hill Climb leg was won by Jordan Hirst, who was 8 seconds quicker than Brodie and Jeremy. The Yellow Jersey will go down to the wire next weekend, the main contenders being Bruce Arthur (current Yellow Jersey holder) and Bryan Keely. Tim Hatley is the Green Jersey holder after 6 races, although Brodie and Jordan have a chance to stake their claims in the Ballarat races. Lanita Steer currently holds the Polka Dot Jersey with Brodie and Jordan yet to clock up 6 races. Lanita also leads the Overall Women’s points ahead of Asha Steer and Laurina Neumann; Aislinn Prendergast is not without a chance with 2 races to go.

30 runners navigated their way around the Sally Pearson Course which Geoff Armstrong won in 19 minutes and 7 seconds, ahead of Katelyn Doyle (21:30) and Janet Johnson (21:56). Max Dalheim continued to dominate the Sprint leg, taking it out in 1 minute and 25 seconds ahead of Emma Robinson and Simon Paini. Simon won the Hill Climb leg in front of Emma and Colin Quinn. Dennis Mews takes over from Janine Steer in the Yellow Jersey standings with a slender lead from Max Dalheim and Anne Arthur. Max holds an unassailable lead for the Green Jersey! The Polka Dot Jersey is still up for grabs with Debbie Dodd the current holder.

The Usain Bolt course has been consistently attended by a few who lead the Jersey Standings, including the Arthur brothers and Peter Beggs. Mason Arthur (20:44) ran the fastest time 48 seconds ahead of Torren Arthur, and Peter Beggs was a fair way back in third place. Torren won the Sprint leg by 3 seconds ahead of Mason, and Andrew Brown was third. Torren also won the Hill Climb just ahead of Mason and Sarah Davies, who now leads the Women’s in overall points. Mason has an unassailable lead in the Yellow Jersey standings, Torren holds the coat hanger for the Green Jersey and Peter Beggs holds the Polka Dot Jersey going into the final 2 races.

It’s going to be an action packed weekend in Ballarat with the final 2 races in the series on Saturday, followed by the Sprint Champs the next morning.   All Jersey points and overall series scores will be decided on Saturday (with the Championships being a standalone race with its own prizes).  Presentations will be held on Sunday.  We look forward to seeing you all there!  Don’t forget that pre-entry is REQUIRED for the Sprint Champs, and closes this Tuesday November 26.  Click here for details.



Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.