Sprint Into Spring Race 1 Wrap – VU St Albans

You can see all the results here, and analyse your splits with WinSplits here.  Have a look at the photos! And see how you went in the Points competition for the Yellow, Green and Polkadot Jerseys.

A hot day, and a hot field contested the first Sprint into Sprint race at VU St Albans. The new map was top quality and the course setting provided plenty of running AND thinking.  One tip: make sure you hear the audible Beep at every control.


The long Mo Farah course (3.5 km) was the most popular.  JWOC rep Ian Lawford stormed home to  win in a sizzling 16 mins 24 secs, narrowly beating Bruce Arthur by 26 seconds, and Brodie Nankervis by 53 seconds. Veteran Tim Hatley took 4th, and reigning Australian Schools Champion Lanita Steer was 5th and first female.  While Ian is now the Yellow Jersey holder, Jordan Hirst took both the Green (sprint leg) and Polkadot (hillclimb leg) jerseys, a terrific effort. Brodie was second in both those jersey competitions.

The shorter Sally Pearson course (2.4 km) was also well contested, with Janine Steer winning in 18 mins 3 sec, a clear 3 minutes ahead of second placed Dennis Mews, and 4 mins ahead of Debbie Dodd (that’s me!) in third.  Max Dalheim powered to a win in both the Green and Polkadot jerseys.

The Usain Bolt course (2 km) was won by Mason Arthur in a very fast time of 15 mins 4 secs.  Younger brother Torren was second in 19 mins, just holding off a challenge from veteran Peter Beggs who took third.  Sophie Arthur was fourth, and first female.  To add to his Yellow jersey, Mason also won the Green jersey, but Torren proved the faster climber, winning the Polkadot jersey by 1 second!




Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.