Race Wrap 4 VU Edgewater

Shane’s Race Wrap:

Sprint Into Spring Race 4 VU Edgewater

Tuckonie Orienteering Club put on a very different course to those experienced in the first three races. Usually some people get lost on the course – this time some people got lost getting to the start line, walking 650m across the road, across the VU Carpark, up a flight of stairs before entering the Reception area and going up the final set of stairs to the courtyard. Runners also had to manoeuvre through a wedding party in the middle of the gardens, whilst a disgruntled Boat Club member forced the removal of control number 74 from the top of the stairs. A solid 134 people enjoyed the course.

Mo Farah was again hotly contested with 63 runners. Bryan Keely, back in top form, was the fastest in 16.31, followed by Brodie Nankervis (17.00) and Matt Doyle (17.13). There is a logjam at the top of the Male rankings with Jakob Edsen, Brodie Nankervis and Ian Lawford all equal on 30 points. The Women’s was taken out by Natasha Key in 19.59, ahead of Laurina Neumann (21.17) and Lanita Steer (22.05). They are also the top three in the Female overall rankings. The Hillclimb Leg was a little bit tricky, avoiding crossing the bolded black line on the map plus going up a soggy hill thanks to the sprinklers. Eskil once again climbed the quickest in a scintillating 31 seconds, 5 seconds ahead of Shane Mallia, with Bryan and Ian a further 8 seconds adrift. The Women’s was won by Lanita in 51 seconds, 9 seconds behind was Natasha, and Carolyn Jackson was a further 6 seconds behind. The Sprint leg was a true test of speed over 250m, and Thor and Rebecca continued their domination. Thor completed the leg in 35 seconds, Shane (38s), Peter Collins (40s), Rebecca Jaffe (44s), Natasha (49s) and Lanita (59s).

Sally Pearson had 48 runners trying to navigate successfully around the course. Ashton Key finished in an impressive time of 13.09, Max Dalheim in 14.29 was second and Mason Arthur was third in 17.19. Mason leads the overall rankings ahead of Max and Aston. The fastest women were Janet Johnson 19.17, Anne Arthur 20.51, and Philippa Lohmeyer-Collins 21.47. Anne still leads the overall standings ahead of Philippa and Ruth Goddard. The arduous hill climb sorted a few people out, whether to jump the rock wall or take the stair option. Max and Aston were equal fastest in 51s, just in front of Ryan Davies in 53s. Anne Robinson maintained her unblemished record, with a fourth consecutive hill climb victory in 1.03, 9 seconds ahead of Janet and 19 seconds ahead of the ever consistent Philippa. The fastest sprinters were Max in 52s, Mason (60s), Robert Foote (61s), Debbie Dodd (73s), Philippa (77s) and Ruth (85s).

Usain Bolt had 23 participants including a group of colleagues eager to test themselves against each other. Torren Arthur did what he does best, winning in a time of 12.18, ahead of Magnus Fossum (15.49) and Noah Hutton (19.09). Lisa Green flew around the course in 14.22, followed by Kathryn Tarr (22.05) and Rebecca Gelsi (22.07). Torren leads the Male overall standings ahead of Magnus, Ian Baker and Tyler Leditschke. Anna Leditschke has taken front position in the Female standings ahead of Marianne Fossum and Claire Adams. Joshua Boulton rocketed up the hill in a quick 40s, followed by Torren (1.05) and Felix Corcoran (1.10). Lisa was the fastest female in 1.18, in front of Claire (1.44) and Rebecca (2.12). The fastest sprinters were once again Joshua (49s), Torren (66s), Noah (77s), Lisa (76s), Claire (82s) and Rebecca (114s).

Looking forward to Race 5 at Parade College Bundoora.







Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.